Holocaust Memorial Day

The title says it all, this entry is in an all seriousness that I usually don't use on here (I'm usually using a bit of sugar and salt (as in, I'm not entirely serious), but not now)


********
Yesterday, 27/1, it was the Holocaust Memorial Day and I only found out when I got to church last night.
And the priest said: We're going to do an ''experience-walk'' with you guys, so put on the blindfolds and stand in line with your hands on each others shoulders.
Everybody was like: Okay :D this'll be fun
And so we stand there, blind and then the music starts... and it was really a doomsday song. And so we started walking and the priest started talking about how the Nazis took the Jews from their homes and then we stopped walking.
after a minute or so we started walking again, now this time he talked about the rides to the camps and we walked on something that either resembled gravel or ashes (I was thinking about the burned bodies and that their ashes are strewn out on the streets) and then we stopped again and we were parted to stand in shorter lines. Then he said: The Jews then were sorted into groups.
Then we were all separated.
He kept on: They were divided into: Men who were still of use *they shoved the usable men into a group*, Men who weren't of use anymore *they were also shoved into a group* Women who were still of use *me and other girls were shoved into a group* Women and children who weren't of use *more shoving*.
Then he went on about that those who weren't of use got gassed immediately and we who were of use got to work our asses for barely any food at all. (we didn't actually do that, he stopped there and we got to sit down)
When we got to take off the blindfolds they showed us two clips from 'Schindler's List': first clip was about them living in the ''barracks'' and one was telling about the gassing (no one believed her) and the second clip was about the nazis sorting out the unusable again, and the women put their own blood on their cheeks to look more lively and to survive and then they had to see their children being shipped away in trucks, and hell kinda just broke lose. (I actually got tears in my eyes and a little hard time breathing.) But some kids had the intelligence to hide (even if they hid in the ''toilet'' which was just fucking horrendous).

It was fun and horrible at the same time, it's hard to explain but, I'm glad I went yesterday.
I've always (well since 6th grade) had the thought that if I would've been living in '39 I would be dead damn quickly, I have skin problems, I'm dark eyed and brunette and I have back, knee and leg problems. I would've been useless for the Nazis.
Horrible things and horrible people go hand in hand.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback